Difference between revisions of "Your Account"

From MircWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
m (Protected "Your Account" [edit=sysop:move=sysop])
 
(10 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
This short guide talks about your account, how to make one, and what it does for you.
 
 
 
 
==Log In==
 
==Log In==
Click the "Log In" button to log into the teaching file system, if you have this informationAny user can browse the public documents on a MIRC Site without authenticating, however to view private ones, or group documents, you must be logged in. You also must log in to author teaching files.
+
Logging in is not required for browsing teaching files, however it does give you access to some added featuresIf you are not logged in, you will only see public teaching files.  After logging in you are granted permission to any of your own private teaching files, as well as any group teaching files.   You also must log in to author teaching files.
  
 
==Create Account==
 
==Create Account==
If you do not have an account, you can click the create account link to create your own account.  This is only available if your administrator has enabled this option on that particular MIRC Site.  If this option is disabled, you must contact your site administrator for an account.
+
If you do not have an account, you can click the "create account" link to create your own account.  This option only available if your administrator has enabled it on your MIRC Site.  If this option is disabled, you must contact your site administrator for an account.
  
 
==Manage Account==
 
==Manage Account==
 
[[Image:manage accounts page.jpg|thumb|Manage accounts page]]
 
[[Image:manage accounts page.jpg|thumb|Manage accounts page]]
Off the main MIRC page there's a link the manage account page.  This page allows you to manage some of the various parameters of your account.
 
  
===Change Password===
+
===Login/Password Functions===
This page allows you to change your own password, an administrator may choose to disable this option.
+
* '''Change Password''' This page allows you to change your own password, an administrator may choose to disable this option.
  
===Register Servers===
+
* '''Register Servers''' If your MIRC Site has links to more then one storage service you may see this option on the manage accounts page.  This page allows you to register your accounts with other MIRC SitesEntering your account information here allows you to perform a query across multiple sites, and have your credentials passed along, so you can view any private or group documents that may otherwise be hidden.  This option may be disabled on some MIRC Sites, and is unnecessary if all of your storage services reside on the same MIRC Site
If your MIRC Site has links to more then one storage service you may see this option on the manage accounts page.  This allows you to register account information that you have on the other storage services in the list (only relevant for storage services that reside on different sites then your own)This allows you to perform one query across multiple sites, and have your credentials passed along, so you can see any private or group documents that may otherwise be hidden.  This option may be disabled on some MIRC Sites.
+
  
 
===Groups===
 
===Groups===
MIRC has a group permission system that allows you to share documents with a particular group of users.  First, the group creator makes a group from the manage accounts page (giving it a name and a password).  The creator then passes this information out to any users that he'd like to join his group.  Those users go to their manage accounts page, and join the group (using the group name, and password supplied by it's creator).  Groups are disabled by default on MIRC Sites, so to access this feature your administrator will have to have enabled groups.
+
MIRC has a group permission system that allows you to share documents with a particular group of users.  First, the group creator makes a group from the manage accounts page (giving it a name and a password).  The creator then passes this information out to any users that he would like to join his group.  Those users then go to their manage accounts page, and join the group.  Groups are disabled by default on MIRC Sites, so to access this feature your administrator will have to have enabled groups.
  
====Create A Group====
+
* '''Create A Group''' This is the page that allows a user to create a new group to share with his colleagues.
This is the page that allows a user to create a new group to share with his friends/colleagues.
+
  
====Join A Group====
+
* '''Join A Group''' This page allows users to join a group that their colleague has sent them.
This page allows users to join a group that their friend/colleague has sent them.
+
  
====Current Groups====
+
* '''Current Groups''' Shows the groups you currently belong to, and allows you to leave them if you like.
Shows the groups you currently belong to, and allows you to leave the group.
+

Latest revision as of 19:22, 31 July 2009

1 Log In

Logging in is not required for browsing teaching files, however it does give you access to some added features. If you are not logged in, you will only see public teaching files. After logging in you are granted permission to any of your own private teaching files, as well as any group teaching files. You also must log in to author teaching files.

2 Create Account

If you do not have an account, you can click the "create account" link to create your own account. This option only available if your administrator has enabled it on your MIRC Site. If this option is disabled, you must contact your site administrator for an account.

3 Manage Account

Error creating thumbnail: Unable to save thumbnail to destination
Manage accounts page

3.1 Login/Password Functions

  • Change Password This page allows you to change your own password, an administrator may choose to disable this option.
  • Register Servers If your MIRC Site has links to more then one storage service you may see this option on the manage accounts page. This page allows you to register your accounts with other MIRC Sites. Entering your account information here allows you to perform a query across multiple sites, and have your credentials passed along, so you can view any private or group documents that may otherwise be hidden. This option may be disabled on some MIRC Sites, and is unnecessary if all of your storage services reside on the same MIRC Site

3.2 Groups

MIRC has a group permission system that allows you to share documents with a particular group of users. First, the group creator makes a group from the manage accounts page (giving it a name and a password). The creator then passes this information out to any users that he would like to join his group. Those users then go to their manage accounts page, and join the group. Groups are disabled by default on MIRC Sites, so to access this feature your administrator will have to have enabled groups.

  • Create A Group This is the page that allows a user to create a new group to share with his colleagues.
  • Join A Group This page allows users to join a group that their colleague has sent them.
  • Current Groups Shows the groups you currently belong to, and allows you to leave them if you like.